Saturday, March 21, 2026

Undue Advantage

 




  “In 2025, Brazil recorded the highest number of feminicides in the last decade. 

There were 1,568 women murdered because of their gender, a 4.7% increase compared to 2024, when there were 1,492 cases.” 

  (CNN)

 



  After 3 years of PT government, I still find fanatics blaming this increase on the previous administration.  
  Man, come on!
  If the PT's policies for this type of crime are so good, the least you'd expect is some stabilization.

  They defend that restrictions on firearms should be even stricter.  
  However, “white” (bladed) weapons are the most commonly used to injure women.


  What I, William Robson, “theorize” happened?  

1 - It could just be an outlier, a coincidence—these numbers naturally fluctuate.  

2 - Undue Advantage.  
  This is more complex.  
  Most of us have reasonably good common sense.  
  A measure that seems fair to us might even annoy us, but it doesn't make us “furious.”  
  Priority parking spots for seniors and people with disabilities.  
  It's annoying to have fewer spots available, but we understand that physical limitations put those individuals at a disadvantage, so we can offset it by giving them priority service and closer parking spots.


  What can make us furious are undue advantages.  

  Why does a judge get two vacation periods a year (regular vacation + judicial recess)? Just because!?  

  Why do families of some prisoners get incarceration benefits?  
  If their income is low, why not just get Bolsa Família like everyone else?

  In republican Brazil, I don't know of Black people being barred from studying, but in the United States there was segregation.  
  It's understandable that Black people there got furious over undue advantages given to whites.

   Well, women (biological or not) are now getting undue advantages.  
  It's natural that this provokes anger in men.


   Why does a woman's word carry more weight than a man's!?  
  (In cases of a woman's accusation, there's a “presumption of guilt” for the man—many have had their lives ruined because of this.)


  Why does a woman's life have more value than a man's!?  
  (Harsher penalties in cases of “femicide.”)


  Bills are being proposed that would let women freely insult men, but men can only “praise” women or stay silent.


   Men's anger keeps building up. Those who already have a propensity for violence… the last straw that makes them overflow with rage has the faucet of these laws wide open.



✧✧✧

.

Friday, March 20, 2026

Strait of Hormuz

 




  “U.S. Sends 2,500 Marines to the Strait of Hormuz  
According to U.S. officials, the troops are already on their way, aboard warships, to reinforce forces in the region.”
  
  This is happening because of Iranian blockades in the strait, which carries 20% of the world's oil, causing major global economic impacts.

  
  Since late February 2026, Iranian attacks on ships and mining in the Gulf have raised fears of escalation in the war.

 
  The Iranians could make concessions, the way the Venezuelans did.  
  The Americans aren't even demanding regime change—just some moderation would be enough.  
  Instead, the Iranians are choosing to double down on radicalization.  
  That leaves the Americans with no choice but to raise the stakes.


  Of course, this is going to have consequences.  
  In a ground invasion of the main island in the Strait of Hormuz, American soldiers' DEATHS are expected.


   From my perspective, it would then be fair for the Americans to occupy that little island indefinitely, even after the war ends.

  Iran's radicalization will mean losing territory to the United States, just like the “Arabs” lost territory to Israel.  
  Then comes the usual victim narrative: “We were at peace and got invaded out of nowhere.”  
   Believe that if you want to ignore the FACTS.


✧✧✧

.

Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Genocide

 



  
 “-cide” comes from the Latin “caedere,” which means to cut, kill, or annihilate.  
  When it appears at the end of a word, it indicates the act of killing or the destruction of something specific.  
  In the case of **genocide**, the word is a combination of:  
    Geno (race, tribe, or nation) + **-cide**  
   Genocide literally means the deliberate extermination of an ethnic, racial, religious, or national group.

  Unlike “homicide,” which has existed for millennia, the word genocide is relatively recent.  
It was coined in 1944 by the Polish lawyer Raphael Lemkin to describe the Nazi atrocities, since there was no technical term that defined the systematic murder of an entire people.
*Grok*

  I have nothing against the creation of new words... as long as there’s a sensible explanation behind them.  
  The Nazis had, as one of their main focuses, the annihilation of Jews simply for being Jews.

  Look, there’s a big difference between wanting to kill a Jew who committed some crime, did something you didn’t like, or because you want to annex a territory that happens to be occupied by Jews.  
  You would act the same way if they were Kurdish, Romanian, Buddhist, Viking...  
  It’s another thing entirely to want to annihilate anyone who is “Palestinian” (an easy current example).

  Israel’s actions are as surgical as possible; there’s no way to completely eliminate unwanted collateral effects (the deaths of innocent Palestinians).  

  The United States doesn’t even want to occupy the territory held by the “Persians.”  
  All it would take is a shift to a less radical regime, and Iranians could live in peace.

  Was Bolsonaro a genocidaire?  
  Hmm... during the pandemic, João Doria did whatever he wanted in São Paulo, and even so, there were 185,000 deaths.  
  What killed people was the CHINESE VIRUS.  
  “Genocide” in this case is an ideological narrative.  
  Not even the Chinese were genocidal.  
  They were irresponsible.  
  It was “reckless manslaughter” against humanity.

  To wrap up...  

  In the case of the term femicide, the change in concept that’s being pushed is illogical.  
  They’re turning a crime of passion into “genocide of women.”  
  Is the woman being killed simply for being a woman?  
  That’s not what we see. If the guy truly “hated” women just for being women... he wouldn’t fall in love with one to the point of not wanting to see her with anyone else.  

  Does that logic make sense to you?


✧✧✧

.

Sunday, March 15, 2026

Women's Restroom

 




Lucas: Is it true that women's restrooms can be dirtier than men's?
  I’ve heard a lot, even from cleaning staff, saying that the women’s restroom is filthy, so the question remains—how come?

William: Women have the stereotype of being more organized than men.

  But just because Germans are known for loving sausages doesn’t mean everyone enjoys them equally.
And just because Japanese people are stereotyped as being smart doesn’t mean all of them are focused on their studies.

  There are plenty of women who are very disorganized, and it's not that rare.
In social life, a girl may seem like a "queen," but her parents see they raised a "pig" 😉 and fight to correct her bad habits.

  The restroom stays clean, but it only takes one "less civilized" man to mess it up beyond regular use.
Urine outside the toilet is enough to spread an unpleasant smell.
  If the restroom is small, another person who doesn’t want to step on the urine has to contort themselves, which isn’t always successful.
And let’s not forget those who don’t flush, as if they take pride in their work...

  With women, it’s no different.
  It only takes one to make a mess.
 A man can urinate standing up, while a woman has to sit down.

  It’s common for women to cover the seat with toilet paper, which increases consumption and fills the trash bin quickly.
  And that’s when they don’t throw things in the toilet (like sanitary pads), leading to frequent clogs.

  Then there’s the extra issue of menstruation.
As if urine and feces weren’t enough, there’s also blood.
  I remembered one "piggy" at work who, "I don’t know why," would get blood on the tiles.
(The cleaning lady complained to me because I was in charge.)
From time to time, I’d have a meeting with the women, asking for more civility in the restroom, and things would improve for a while.

Note: There was an employee who had friction with the cleaning lady, and my guess is that she was doing that to "punish" her coworker.
But that’s the kind of thing I kept to myself.
There was no way to prove it, and of course, I could’ve been wrong.

  Another problem is "vanity."
  Women have a lot more hair and do a lot more grooming.
  Not to mention the use of lipstick and other makeup.

  To finish...

  There’s a big difference when the restroom is shared by just a few people—no more than half a dozen, for example.
  In that case, the women’s restroom is usually cleaner.

  The problem arises when anonymity is possible...

✧✧✧

.

Friday, March 13, 2026

If you are Black

 




Carlos:
  If you're Black, you're unlikely to be taken seriously at work.
  In Brazil, that's right – a Black person (whether they're Black or mixed-race) in a predominantly white environment, like administrative fields, technology, engineering, law, medicine, etc., will never be taken seriously.
  Between a highly competent Black person and a mediocre white person, the white person will always be taken seriously, while the Black person will constantly have their competence questioned.
  It’s frustrating, but it’s the reality, and it wears you down.

William:
  I fell into the "unlikely" category.😉
  I’ve always been taken seriously in every company I’ve worked for.
  I believe it’s a matter of "posture."

  Usually, Black people cling so much to the idea that "everything is racism" that they avoid correcting their own mistakes.

  Since I’ve never been obsessed with the idea of racism, it’s always the last thing I think of when I receive feedback.
  You mentioned many fields, and I believe the more technical the field, the less room there is to ignore someone's competence.
  If a Black doctor makes the right diagnosis and a white one doesn’t... those things are hard to ignore, especially when they happen often.
  Take my case, for example. 
  I’m Black, and people may disagree with what I write, but it’s increasingly rare for me to read that "I don’t write well."
  I’ve received a lot of criticism in the past, but I never took it as racism. I analyzed the feedback and corrected myself when it seemed reasonable.

  For example:
  Once, someone said I used "hahahaha" too much.
  I realized it was true.
  I cut 70% of the "hahaha" and now when I use it, I prefer an emoji 😉.




✧✧✧

.

Wednesday, March 11, 2026

Mental Slavery?

 



Movie: The Matrix: There are only four types of people you will encounter in your life:

  1. Those who try to wake up the slaves

  2. The masters of the slaves

  3. Those who have no idea they are slaves

  4. Those who enjoy being slaves


William: I don’t understand this constant use of the word "slaves."
  That word has become too subjective over time.
  Even in the movie, it doesn’t make much sense, since humans are used as an energy source, not as laborers themselves.
  People confuse “the need to work” with slavery, and then it's just "whining."

Angelo: Not always does working under certain circumstances mean you're a potential slave.
  To me, the greatest slavery is mental.

William: "Mental slavery," to me, is "poetry." 😉
  In reality…
  Being a slave means being someone else's property.
  How your owner treats you can vary infinitely.

Angelo: Exactly, willingly being someone else’s property, whether it’s the system or an ideology, is a hell of a poetry.

William: I agree.


 Terapia da Lógica - Link

✧✧✧

.

Tuesday, March 10, 2026

Religious Education

 


   Looking at the world, what’s the advantage for a nation to have “fewer Christians”?

   The world’s leading superpower (the United States) has a Christian majority.  
   I wouldn’t trade that for the second-biggest power (China), which encourages worship of the State.

  Then you have Muslim-majority countries—I have no idea what’s going to happen to them once oil loses its importance.

  The USSR pushed state atheism for 70 years and ended up collapsing anyway.

   Hinduism is interesting, but I’m not a fan of Indian culture.

  Shinto is cool—the Japanese really turned things around after World War II.

  For me, the worst part is when schools start teaching religion.  
   I’d rather they just focus on actual schooling: give kids the basics of math, geography, grammar, history, geometry…

   Education should be the family’s responsibility—let each parent teach their kids whatever religion (or none) they want.  

   Then, when they’re teenagers, people can choose their own path.


✧✧✧

.

Monday, March 9, 2026

Economic Freedom

 




   Economic freedom measures the degree to which the government intervenes in economic activities.  
   It's the extent to which individuals and businesses can produce, invest, work, and trade with minimal state interference.
  
  It involves protection of private property, legal certainty, low tax burden, monetary stability, freedom of competition, and open trade.

   The greater the predictability of rules and the lower the bureaucracy, the higher the economic freedom.

 
  It's not something isolated, but the set of rules that either facilitate or hinder starting and running businesses, or that intervene in labor income.


  Example: opening a shoe store.

   In Chile (high economic freedom), with the “Empresa en un Día” system, it's possible to set up a company in 1 to 5 business days, provided the documentation is in order.
 
   In Brazil, even with digital advances, it takes on average 30 to 60 days (up to 4 months when including permits and licenses).

   Tax burden: Brazil 32-34% (recent record); Chile 20-21%.
  
   Minimum wage (March 2026): Brazil R$ 1,621/month.  
  Chile ≈ R$ 3,000/month (using an approximate exchange rate of around R$ 5.21 per USD; actual CLP 539,000 minimum wage converts to roughly that range depending on the daily rate).

    In Chile, there is no mandatory 13th salary—the company decides whether to offer a Christmas bonus.  
   But what would you prefer: a monthly salary that's about 90% higher every month, or an extra payment parceled out at the end of the year? 😉

  
   Many Chilean companies offer both.  

   Less state intervention generates more income and greater agility.




✧✧✧

.

Saturday, March 7, 2026

Americans and Wars

 






Vanessa: Look, the U.S. supplied weapons to Ukraine, but does anyone remember that Ukraine gave up its entire nuclear arsenal back in the '90s?
  Bottom line: now they’re stuck depending on other countries for defense.

William: Look, that just proves how much the so-called "West" prioritized peace. Once Ukraine regained its independence, the Russians might have felt uneasy with their arsenal—just like South Korea feels about North Korea’s nukes today. Even though they didn't have to, since the Russians were broke at the time, the West conceded as much as possible. Just look at the Germans, the British, the Italians... they simply stopped investing in their militaries. 

  The Germans went so far as to trust the Russians that they shut down all their nuclear power plants.
Meanwhile, Putin—claiming he was "protecting" himself from who-knows-what—kept building up a massive military, just like the Chinese. 
  In 2014, he did the unthinkable and invaded Crimea just because he felt like it, after already invading Georgia.

   Americans aren’t stupid. 
  Alone, they’re no match for China and Russia combined. Trump, in his own blunt but effective way, gave the Europeans a wake-up call. 
  Authoritarian nations are arming themselves to subjugate democracies. 
   If they want war, that’s what they’ll get. 
  It’s "survival of the fittest" now.

Vanessa: Oh boy, it’s almost touching to see such a delusion over your "Uncle Sam" idol, but you’re getting worked up over nothing again. 
  The real issue is the nuclear treaty that the U.S. actually didn't sign. 
  If the entire—and I mean entire—U.S. economy is sustained by financing wars and death, guess what their logic is gonna be?

William: That’s nonsense from someone who doesn’t know history. 
  Did Americans fight the British for independence? Sure, but how many other nations did the same against their colonizers? We fought the Portuguese here in Brazil. 
  Did Americans fight "indigenous peoples"?
  Brazilians did too. 
  Americans vs. Mexicans? 
  Brazilians vs. Paraguayans. 
  The American Civil War? 
  Brazil had the Constitutionalist Revolution...

   Before 1930, the U.S. military was weaker than Portugal’s. 
   They only started arming up when they realized the Japanese wanted to control the entire Pacific.



✧✧✧

.

Tuesday, March 3, 2026

American Intervention

 



William:WE SHOULD ENCOURAGE every nation to solve its own problems within its own borders.
  I’m done putting up with people who champion socialism and dictatorships in their home countries, only to invade other nations looking for democracy and capitalism.
  Furthermore, make "formal" requests and accept it if you're turned down—I am 100% against ILLEGAL immigration.
  The world is a big place; go where you’re actually welcome.
  Here in Brazil, we worship leftist ideology (generally speaking).
  Go learn Mandarin and try immigrating to China.
  Why even try the United States!?

  Riddle me this, or I'll devour you!

Miquéias: So, why are you in favor of Trump interfering in Brazil, Palestine, and Iran???
It’s that old saying... "Do as I say, not as I do"!!!
As usual, your arguments are biased and totally clueless!!!

William: The opening statement already explains it.

  "I’m done putting up with people who champion socialism and dictatorships in their home countries, only to invade other nations looking for democracy and capitalism."

  Trump is blocking and deporting illegal immigrants however he can—he’s even going overboard in some cases. Putting the U.S. Army on the border with orders to shoot to kill... that would be too savage.

  But look, dictators DISARM THE POPULATION and build up powerful, heavily armed repressive forces.   Expecting the people who fled to just go back and find the strength to overthrow the regime is impossible.

  So, how do you nip the problem in the bud?
  By attacking the dictators directly.
  There’s no point in killing thousands of soldiers—who are usually just kids—while the regime's elite continues to live the high life in total luxury.




✧✧✧

.

Wednesday, February 11, 2026

To be feared

 


Gil: If you can’t be respected, be feared!


William: If possible, I’d rather look for a less savage environment. I appreciate civility. To be feared, I usually have to do bad things. I never forget Nietzsche:


"He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And if you gaze long into an abyss, the abyss also gazes into you."


I prefer to be civilized and live among civilized people where respect comes naturally.



⇩ ⇩

https://filosofiamatematicablogger.blogspot.com/2021/08/abismo-dos-pensamentos.html

*

*


Tuesday, February 10, 2026

Shame of Success

 

Otávio: Our system is designed to keep people living on the edge of a pathology. Basically, I think the ruling elite wants us living on the brink—or even in the midst—of mental health issues like depression, burnout, anxiety, and so on. It’s all so people act like a "herd" that lacks the mental strength to rebel against the elite in power, thereby perpetuating their control. The advent of social media, the constant comparisons, the pressure on young people to have a perfect, "Instagrammable" life—maybe it’s all planned so that people exist only to sustain this elite, without the strength to push back.



William: "System" is such a broad word. Without overcomplicating it, we can say it’s a synonym for method or organization. Cuba has a system of government, my car has a heating system, I have a writing system, Flamengo has a tactical system... For those further to the left, "the system" is a synonym for "bourgeois capitalist society." Something to be fought tooth and nail... 😉 I’m center-right; the more middle class (bourgeois) a society is, the better, as far as I'm concerned.

I won’t drone on about it, but I’ll give you a quick example. A Lula supporter once came to me with this talk about elite domination. I asked him if this "elite" elected Lula three times. He said no, that Lula was the will of the people. In other words, the "elite that controls everyone and everything" only exists when it fits the guy’s ideology or doctrine.

Besides your parents and close relatives, do you really think your neighbors are that worried—or putting that much social pressure on you—to succeed at anything!?




✧✧✧

.